Introduction of the Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch

This branch owes its success to the founder, Dr.  Muhammad Bagher Shayvard (RIP) , who established this branch as Pharmacy Faculty  in 1986 with great  dedication and hard working .In fact without his priceless efforts ,this faculty  would not have accomplished  its  great  goals  of creating a chance to educate skillful pharmacy students .

Dr. Mohammad Bagher Shayvard

The founder and dean of the Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch  (1986-2007)

In 2007 ,Dr. Seyed Mahdi  Rezayat  a full time Pharmacology and Toxicology professor at Tehran university of medical sciences ,became the chancellor  of the branch  .With this change  and according to his efforts ,came the astounding development of the branch ,making it possible for students to major in 33 different fields at 3 faculties of the university .His impeccable contributions enhanced the educational quality providing means to better accomplish as a Msc ,BS ,Pharm D and   PhD students .


Dr. Seyed Mahdi Rezayat

Prof. of Toxicology & Pharmacology

Chancellor- Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch, Islamic Azad University (2007-present)

Pharmacy is the science and technique of preparing and dispensing drugs. It is a health profession that links health sciences with chemical sciences and aims to ensure the safe and effective use of pharmaceutical drugs. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences  for their  major impact on the public health are so critical for Islamic Azad University and our country . In fact the boundaries between Pharmacy disciplines and with other sciences, are not always clear-cut therefore, collaborative teams from various disciplines (pharmacists and other scientists) worked  together  in this branch toward the introduction of new fields of study  in pharmaceutical Sciences. After 7  years efforts ,  we have successfully  matched   these fields  of study with other health fields such as   Medical Nanotechnology, Toxicology, Food Sciences , Medicinal Chemistry, Microbiology, Molecular and cellular  Biology, Phytochemistry, Essential oils  technology, Applied  Chemistry  ,Biotechnology, MBA and  Drug Quality Assurance ,etc in this educational center with more than 7000 students and these combination of unique fields has made  this branch  nationally  unique .

Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch  initially was a Faculty of Pharmacy at Islamic Azad  University in 1986 with 120 students .Overcoming all those obstacle and solving so many problems made it possible to strengthen  its scientific and administrative structure and foundations ,resulting in a successful education of skilled  students with national and international scientific and administrative achievements  .The outcome was an independent and centered Pharmaceutical Sciences  Branch with 3 faculties and 4 research center with acceptable facilities and experienced professors, which  was the beginning of the future advancement and development   of this Branch  .IAUPS ,as a financially independent branch  ,being managed by a perspective and dedicated administrative team , educates  creative ,ethical, professional and practical students  ,preparing them to serve in different  industrial  ,educational ,clinical , research ,  service systems and improving them as well by expanding the horizons of science and enhancing  community health.


Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch consists of four buildings:

Building No. 1 and 2: in Dr. Shariati St, Yakhchal St.

Building No.3: in Dr. Shariati St, Gheytarieh, Shahid Mousivand  alley

Building No.4: in Dr. Shariati, Gholhak, Shahid pabarja alley, Ayneh Blv, Ghole yakh.

Currently there are 46 classes,36 laboratories, 4 research centers ,and 7 drug stores.


Summary of the establishment and development of IAUPS:

  • The establishment of the Faculty of Pharmacy: in 1986
  • Conversion to Pharmaceutical Sciences Branch : in 1999
  • Dr. Rezayat became the  chancellor  in 2007
  • Development of majors and fields of study (1 up to 33) :from 2008 till now
  • The establishment of the new Faculty of  Advanced Sciences  and Technology: in 2009
  • The independency of  the Faculty of Pharmacy: 2010
  • The establishment of the faculty of pharmaceutical Chemistry: 2013
  • Enhancing and developing Mousivand building: 2012-2014
  • Establishment of Pharmaceutical Sciences Research Center :2009 ........ launched:2014-2015
  • The establishment and launch of Herbal Medicines Research Center: 2014-2015
  • The establishment and launch  of Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients Research Center: 2014-2015
  • The establishment and launch of Drug Delivery System Research Center: 2014-2015

CopyRight 2014-2016 @ IAUPS. All Rights Reserved.

Total: 53,699 Today: 27 Yesterday: 35 This page: 891 online: 1 Details